Overwatch World Cup National Committee, groups and venue announced

By Kurtis Chan on May 12, 2017

Phase 2 of Overwatch World Cup is completed, where the National Committee was voted and selected for each of the qualified countries. Furthermore, the 32 qualified countries were also divided into eight groups of four, and the group stage matches will take place around the world. All venues for the group stage have been set, but the dates are not set by Blizzard yet. Here is the list of groups and the venue where the matches will take place, as well as the committee for each country:

Groups and Venues

Live qualifiers to fight into the finals of Overwatch World Cup 2017 will commence after a date is set by Blizzard. A series of four group stage events will take place across Europe, North America and Asia. Each of these group stage events will have eight teams pushing and contesting the payload for a full week, and the top two teams will automatically qualify for the Overwatch World Cup finals which will take place at BlizzCon 2017

Group A - Shanghai, China

  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • Norway
  • Romania

Group B - Shanghai, China

  • France
  • Denmark
  • Thailand
  • Argentina

Group C - Sydney, Australia

  • Sweden
  • Australia
  • Italy
  • Portugal

Group D - Sydney, Australia

  • Finland
  • Japan
  • Spain
  • Vietnam

Group E - Katowice, Poland

  • South Korea
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Austria

Group F - Katowice, Poland

  • Canada
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • Turkey

Group G - Burbank, California

  • United States
  • Taiwan/ Chinese Taipei
  • Brazil
  • New Zealand

Group H - Burbank, California 

  • United Kingdom
  • Germany
  • Israel
  • Belgium

National Committee

Every National Committee will consist of three local experts who will be responsible for roster picks during the tournament. The National Committee was selected via two stages. Firstly, ten nominees from a qualified country who are experts like analysts, coaches and many more will be introduced. Secondly, players will vote for the National Committee for their own country, and here are the results:

Argentina: Klauss, Bassoid, Parkita

Australia: HeyKatie, Uber, Serenity

Austria: Wat7, Thrittly, Mærcy

Belgium: Dhevin, Afoxx, Toetje

Japan: Stansmith, 江尻 勝, 太田 桂

Brazil: Cooruja, pOkiz, Baba1u

Canada: Mangachu, Huk, Pokelawls

China: 老李JamLee, 逍遥,木子Muzi

Chinese Taipei: 阿森, 聶寶, Ray

Denmark: Krytox, Lind, Nerfdd

Finland: Zappis, Taimou, Tseini

France: Alphacast, Troma, Degun

Germany: Internethulk, Skipjack, Cirouss

Hong Kong: Kin-Long Wong, Moowe, 熊猫人春日

Israel: Deadlymich, KAFEEEEEE, Inferi

Italy: Herc2, Carnifex, Hal

Netherlands: Twoeasy, Dante, Morte

New Zealand: AVRL, Smite, Nesty

Norway: Invision, Zappy, AverageJonas

Poland: Warchawk, HighStyled, Blinku

Portugal: Mowzassa, Horthic, Didex

Romania: mL7, Meza, cucubau

Russia: Anak, Rubikon, ShadowBurn

Singapore: Tsuki, Sodafiz, Strykerx

South Korea: Runner, Yongbongtang, Themarine

Spain: Winghaven, Harryhook, Bromas

Sweden: Zeboosai, TviQ, IDDQD

Thailand: CastBy9Arm, Ravee, KOKFC

Turkey: h3x, yaga, Johnsinan

United Kingdom: Stylosa, Numlocked, Kruise

USA: Ster, Kyky, Jason Kaplan

Vietnam: Viruss, Min, Trung

Too bad we won't get to see some of the pro players and famous content creators like Taimou, Harryhook, TVIQ, IDDQD, Shadowburn, Stylosa and many more play in the games. Hopefully they are able to come up with a good roster so that every match can be as exciting as when they are playing.


Source: Overwatch World Cup Official Page, Overwatch Subreddit

Kurtis Chan
About the Author
Assistant Editor at Gamehubs who is an e-Sports enthusiast (mainly on League of Legends and Overwatch). Still saving up for a PS4.....
We need a new party member