Overwatch Anniversary event confirmed with start and end date announced, along with Overwatch Free Weekend and Overwatch Game of the Year Edition

By Kurtis Chan on May 18, 2017

Overwatch one year anniversary is less than one week away and Blizzard has finally announced the event start and end date. The event will begin on the day Overwatch was officially released itself, which is May 23 or May 24 depending on which part of the world you are living at. As usual, the anniversary will last for 3 weeks and it ends at June 12 or June 13.

Blizzard also uploaded a video to commemorate Overwatch One Year Anniversary by recapping all of the things that have happened for the past year in Overwatch, including the release of three post-launch heroes- Ana, Sombra and Orisa, 3 new maps- Eichenwalde, Ecopoint Antartica and Oasis, past events that took place in the game, and many more. Blizzard did not forget to thank the Overwatch community in the video by including fan arts, amazing cosplays, as well as fan made videos.

The only thing missing from the video is the details of the event. The video only mentioned the period of the event and that's about it. Previous Xbox leaks showed that there will be a brand new Overwatch Anniversary loot box that contains more than 100 cosmetic items including skins, highlight intros, voice lines, emotes, victory poses and voice lines, but Blizzard are still withholding information pertaining the event.

Overwatch Free Weekend is back!

Blizzard does not want the anniversary event to be exclusively for Overwatch players only, but also wants gamers or people who are interested in the game but don't own it to join the party as well. Therefore, the kind people from Blizzard are holding another Overwatch Free Weekend for PC, PS4 and Xbox One. From May 26-29, all 24 heroes and 14 maps in Overwatch are available for play. Players are also entitled to earn event loot boxes while leveling up and unlock the event exclusive items. In addition, you will get to keep any progress made during the free weekend if you have made the decision to purchase the game after the event ends. The only condition for it is to login with the same Blizzard, PSN, or Xbox Live account that you played on during the Overwatch Free Weekend. Here is a guide on how to install Overwatch for each platform:

For WindowS PC:

Step 1: Download and install the Blizzard desktop app, if you haven't already, and launch it.
Step 2: Create a FREE Blizzard account, or log in with an existing account. 
Step 3: Click the "Overwatch" icon, located on the left-hand side of the Blizzard desktop app.
Step 4: Select your region from the drop-down menu, then click "Install" to begin the installation process.
Step 5: Once installed, click "Play" to begin!

For PlayStation 4:

Step 1: Turn on your PlayStation 4 and log in to your preferred local user. 
Step 2: Go to PlayStation Store and select "Search" from the top menu. 
Step 3: In the search field, type in "Overwatch."
Step 4: Select "Overwatch Free Weekend" from the search results and then click "Download."
Step 5: Once the download and installation process is complete, click "Start" to begin!

For Xbox One:

Step 1: Turn on your Xbox One and log in to your Xbox Live account.
Step 2: Go to the Xbox One Store, then select "Search."
Step 3: In the search field, type in "Overwatch."
Step 4: Select "Overwatch: Origins Edition" from the search results and then click "Free Trial."
Step 5: Once the download and installation process is complete, click "Launch" to begin!

The starting time for Overwatch Free Weekends differs from each region acrosss all platform. Check out the list below for the exact starting date and time for your region. If your region or prefered time zone is not listed below, you can visit timezoneconverter.com for additional time zone assistance.

Europe

Americas

Asia

19:00 BST on May 26

20:00 CEST on May 26

21:00 MSK on May 26

11:00 a.m. PDT on May 26

12:00 p.m. MDT on May 26

1:00 p.m. CDT on May 26

1:00 p.m. AST on May 26

2:00 p.m. EDT on May 26

3:00 p.m. BRT on May 26

3:30 p.m. NDT on May 26

2:00 a.m. SGT on May 27

4:00 a.m. AEST on May 27

6:00 a.m. NZDT on May 27

2:00 a.m. CST on May 27

3:00 a.m. KST on May 27

3:00 a.m. JST on May 27

Overwatch Game of the Year Edition

In conjunction with Overwatch Anniversary, Blizzard will also release Overwatch Game of the Year Edition which retails at $59.99, and it contains the game and a whole bunch of goodies for other Blizzard titles. Here’s what’s you will be getting alongside the game in the GOTY Edition:

  • Overwatch - 10 Bonus Loot Boxes
    • Enjoy 10 bonus Loot Boxes which each contain random items that can be used to customize the appearance of your heroes and personalize them. Loot Boxes may include Skins, Emotes, Victory Poses, Voice Lines, Sprays, and Highlight Intros, as well as Credits you can use to acquire many different customization options.
  • Overwatch - Hero Skins
    • Pay homage to the original Overwatch strike force by wearing the vintage Blackwatch Reyes or Strike-Commander Morrison skins. Explore other heroes’ origins with Overgrown Bastion, Security Chief Pharah, and even Slipstream Tracer!
  • Heroes of the Storm - Tracer Hero
    • Jump into the Nexus with Tracer and surprise your enemies in the blink of an eye.
  • World of Warcraft - Baby Winston Pet
    • Adorably cuddly and highly intellectual, the Baby Winston pet will be at your side as you fight your way through Azeroth.
  • Diablo III - Mercy's Wings
    • Slay demonic forces throughout the High Heavens and Burning Hells as you don Mercy’s wings. All of Sanctuary will know of your allegiance to Overwatch!
  • StarCraft II In-game Portraits and a Hearthstone Card Back
    • With portraits of Tracer, Reaper, Pharah, Winston, Bastion, and Soldier: 76, you’re sure to become a champion of the Koprulu Sector. You can also battle it out in Hearthstone with an Overwatch-themed card back fit for a hero!

The hype intensifies for Overwatch Anniversary after the official announcement is made. Can't wait to get my hands on the new skins that are coming to game!

0%
Happy
0%
Inspired
0%
Amused
0%
Sad
0%
Annoyed
0%
Angry
Kurtis Chan
About the Author
Amateur writer and intern at Gamehubs who is an e-Sports enthusiast (mainly on League of Legends and Overwatch). Still saving up for a PS4.....
Comments
Subscribe to Edge today
We need a new party member