Mobile Legends Professional League MY/SG Kicks Off The Regular Season With A RM400,500 Prize Pool

By Intan Mawarni on Aug 6, 2018

Mobile Legends Professional League (MPL) MY/SG Season 2 has made its way to the Regular Season with 10 teams chosen to win the coveted champion title and secure the prize pool of RM400,500.

After more than 1000 teams participated in the three intense qualifiers for two months, 6 new teams forged ahead to the Regular Season and will be facing 4 returning teams from the MPL Season 1. Here is the complete roster of the teams that will go head-to-head in the MPL MY/SG Season 2: Regular Season:

  1. Bigetron SG
  2. Flash Tyrants
  3. AirAsia Saiyan
  4. Mystic Burden
  5. Saiyan Reborn
  6. Traitor
  7. ICON
  8. Borneo Dragon FV
  9. EVOS Esports SG
  10. W.O.W

From left to right: AirAsia Saiyan’s RUSH and captain Fredo, Moonton director of operations Lucas Mao, Astro Chief of Sports Lee Choong Khay, Bigetron SG captain Mr. Vi.
From left to right: AirAsia Saiyan’s RUSH and captain Fredo, Moonton director of operations Lucas Mao, Astro Chief of Sports Lee Choong Khay, Bigetron SG captain Mr. Vi.

In conjunction with the reveal of the old and new teams in Regular Season, Moonton's director of operations Lucas Mao delivered special announcements for other Mobile Legends leagues happening in Malaysia and Singapore. Among the announcements are MPL Annual League, MLBB Diamond Challenge Series (MDC) and MLBB College League (MCL). According to Mao, the MCL will be launched this year and the developer is actively seeking cooperation from any esports college and university organisations to inaugurate MCL.

In wake of the MSC 2018 fiasco, which saw the withdrawal of AirAsia Saiyan from the competition, Astro Chief of Sports CK Lee promised better clarity in MPL MY/SG Season 2. Lee said “We look to bring MPL to the next level by strengthening the league’s rules and regulations and create standardised contracts that is recognised across the region to benefit the players, viewers and team sponsors.”

When asked about the MSC 2018 debacle whether AirAsia Saiyan will take legal action against RevivalTV, Captain of AirAsia Saiyan, Ahmad Fuad Razali “Fredo” replied, “We will let our (AirAsia Saiyan) management to make the call regarding that matter.” Determined to become the champion after placing fourth place in the last season, Fredo and the team will give their best and opt for better strategies to strike the opponents in every match.

The second season of MPL MY/SG will introduce a new format where 10 teams will play against another in a round robin format in ‘best-of-3’ matches. The teams who prevail with the most score will win USD$200 (RM815) at the end of the season. Only 8 teams will move forward to the playoffs and 2 teams will be eliminated.

As always, Moonton and eGG Network along with new sponsor, Razer will bring you the Regular Season before moving into the playoffs in October. Find out who will become the Rise of the Legends in the MPL MY/SG Season 2: Regular Season from 10 August to 23 September 2018. You can check out the schedule for the Regular Season here.

Catch all the MPL MY/SG Season 2 actions live in Mobile Legends Facebook page or tune in eGG Network’s Facebook and Instagram. Don’t forget to follow our Facebook and Twitter as well as our YouTube channel for your daily dose of gaming news and features.

Intan Mawarni
About the Author
Story-driven games like Uncharted and The Last of Us are my favourites. I write and play video games! Yay!
We need a new party member