LawBreakers closed beta coming this month, will have new roles and maps

By Melvyn Tan on Mar 7, 2017

Class-based shooter LawBreakers will be having a closed beta test this month, developer Boss Key Productions announced. The beta phase will begin a week after PAX East 2017 in Boston, where the closed beta will be previewed.

The beta promises "new content and changes based on player feedback from the 2016 alpha, including the debut of highly-anticipated new roles that offer a greater variety of play-styles, improved game balance, new maps and much more". These will likely include the three new roles and the new Mammoth map that will be playable at PAX East, and the Studio Update #4 video also teases a support role.

"Maybe a little bit of back-up... healing-type thing going on," CEO Cliff Bleszinski elaborated after studio communications manager Rohan Rivas mentioned it. Bleszinski also suggested that the game had changed substantially since last year. "Not the same game, though," he said. "The team's been very, very hard at work."

In addition, the video revealed that the studio had partnered with Nvidia to implement an in-game feature to easily share live clips to social media.

LawBreakers was first revealed in 2015, and underwent a change from a free-to-play business model to a traditional buy-to-play one. Unlike games like Overwatch or Paladins, it sports grittier and less cartoony graphics and features a smaller roster of characters (currently, four are listed on the site). The game also features "gravity-defying" maps that affect player movement at certain sections and a good deal of verticality and vertical movement.

The closed beta will begin on Thursday, March 16 at 9am PT/Noon ET/4pm UTC and end on Sunday, March 19 at 9pm PT/Midnight ET/4 am UTC, and you can head over to the site now to sign up. A release date for the finished product has not been set yet.

0%
Happy
0%
Inspired
0%
Amused
0%
Sad
0%
Annoyed
0%
Angry
Melvyn Tan
About the Author
Freelancer for Gamehubs since 2015, who enjoys various forms of entertainment including gaming (naturally). Since watching Dunkirk, he now plays Day of Infamy more than usual.
Comments
Subscribe to Edge today
We need a new party member